Les Newman Award 2023 Recipient – Carmel Evans

It is with a great deal of pleasure that I would like to announce the 2023 winner of the Les Newman Award is Carmel Evans. It is rather serendipitous that Carmel Evans is leaving the committee this year. As you all know Carmel has been an outstanding member of the Society from her part time role in early 2000’s to her fulltime position as the person who kept the office going, our treasurer and public officer, the original organiser for NSW and for Tasmania. After 26 years of service to Comdance I cannot think of anyone more deserving. I know this award will not just mean a great deal to Carmel because of her association with Mr Newman but also know the Newman Family are also thrilled that Carmel is the recipient for 2023.

– Diane Gepp.

Carmel Evans
Written by: Diane Gepp